Becca Van Sickler receives the Galileo Circle Copernicus Award

Congratulations to Becca Van Sickler for receiving the Copernicus award. The Copernicus Award is one of the highest honors the College of Science can bestow on its non-tenure eligible faculty, appointed personnel or classified staff. Becca is the acknowledged heart of the undergraduate program in Neuroscience and Cognitive Science (NSCS). Becca became part of the NSCS program at its inception and has been a constant and... Read more

Post date: Mon, 11/28/2016 - 16:47

Naomi Rance, MD, PHD, Awarded $1.5 Million Grant from the NIH

Dr. Naomi Rance is the recipient of a $1.5 million R01 grant from the National Institute on Aging.  Dr. Rance is Professor and Associate Head of the Department Pathology; with joint appointments in Neurology, Cellular and Molecular Medicine and the Evelyn F. McKnight Brain Institute.  Dr. Rance divides her time between Clinical Neuropathology, research in Neuroendocrinology and teaching in the College of Medicine.

... Read more

Post date: Tue, 08/26/2014 - 09:25

Congratulations to Elizabeth A. Krupinski, professor of medical imaging, psychology and public health at the Arizona Health Sciences Center, for being named a ... Read more

Post date: Wed, 07/30/2014 - 16:08

More MBB in the News:  See the UANEWS report on research by Jay Sanguinetti, John Allen, and Mary Peterson at

Post date: Tue, 07/08/2014 - 16:07

Congratulations to Carol Barnes who won the SfN Ralph W. Gerard Prize in Neuroscience. This prize -- the highest recognition conferred by SfN -- honors an outstanding scientist who has made significant contributions to neuroscience throughout his or her career. This award includes a $25,000 prize.

Post date: Tue, 07/08/2014 - 16:05


An interdisciplinary group of researchers at the University of Arizona has been awarded a $2 million grant from the National Institutes of Health to study language abilities in patients recovering from a stroke. The findings are expected to guide the development of treatments that would help patients regain as much of their language skills as possible.

Congratulations to Stephen Wilson, Department of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences in Principal... Read more

Post date: Fri, 06/20/2014 - 12:45

John G. Hildebrand, Regents' Professor of Neuroscience in the College of Science at the University of Arizona, has been elected foreign secretary of the National Academy of Sciences, making him one of the highest ranking executives in the academy.  It is the first time that the academy has selected a faculty member from an Arizona university for the position.  Hildebrand was selected by the academy's Nominating Committee as a candidate for election to this position based on his extensive... Read more

Post date: Wed, 04/09/2014 - 15:59

We are very pleased to announce that the Neuroscience and Cognitive Science program has been designated the recipient of funding from a non-profit organization to establish a 12-week summer research program that will give more NSCS students a paid opportunity to work in a lab for the summer.  The deadline to apply for Summer 2014 is February 1st. Click here for more information about the program and instructions for applying. NSCS... Read more

Post date: Mon, 01/13/2014 - 18:25

Congratulations to NSCS Senior Bradley Shane who received the first-ever NSCS Undergraduate Research Award! Bradley used his award to attend the 2013 Society for Neuroscience conference in San Diego. The funds for this award were raised by Brad's fellow NSCS majors at the 2012 and 2013 School of MBB Wine Tasting and Silent Auction fundraisers. All NSCS majors are eligible to apply for funds from this account to support their research. More details here: ... Read more

Post date: Mon, 11/18/2013 - 18:01

Congratulations to Lynn Nadel who is one of the two award winners of the 2013 International Sisley-Jerome Lejeune Award for his pioneering work on Down syndrome.  The award includes a 20,000€ prize.  

Post date: Mon, 08/26/2013 - 17:33